Went with Austin today out of Fate Sanders. Here’s the thing though. With water temps of 50-55 and 55-58 I was hammering the crappie. Well, by my standards, not Mervs. 😀

We would boat maybe 35-40 fish a day and have 8-12 keepers. I’d spider rig anywhere from 8-16 FOW with both minnows and jigs. Bam bam bam.

As of last weekend and today, water temp of 60-63, I can hardly catch any! Last Saturday I had 8 fish all day. Today, 11. We fished shallow, 1-3 FOW casting the banks. We casted to mud banks. We casted to sandy banks. We casted to gravely banks. We jigged shallow structure with minnows. We jigged structure in 5-8 FOW of water. We spider rigged in 12-18 FOW. We cast into useless water hoping and praying for something! Mind you the something ended up being an 18″ stripe! The fish we caught today,, mostly,were in 12-15 FOW spider rigged over a hump or structure.

Thing is, I was always told that these water temps they should be shallow and on bed.

Has the water level of priest being low, coupled with the storms we’ve had messed with it this bad, or am I just this bad?

Also, I was recently told if the sticks are floating end on end, then the fish won’t bite. I’m assuming this deals with barometric pressure,but not sure how….